Gorgeous lady costumes from the movie Marie Antoinette

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Check out the wonderful costumes from the movie Marie Antoinette. The designer Milena Canonero have done an excellent job. When she met the productor of the movie:

Coppola handed Canonero a box of pastel-coloured macaroons from the Laduree pastry house. “She told me, ‘These are the colours I love’,” recalls Canonero. “I used them as a palette. Sofia was clear about the colouration, but left the rest to me. We squeezed the essence of the period, without reproducing it. Even if you think you know a lot about it,” she argues, “you always have to look for a new angle. I simplified the very heavy look of the 18th century. I wanted it to be believable, but more stylized.”

An analysis more profound of each and every costume is presented by professionals here, which is the site from where i copied the pictures. i am in love with these dresses, they are too fabolous. The fabrics used in the words of MC again:

Beautiful silks, taffeta, and satin. But for Marie Antoinette I used original lace from the 18th century and I also used original waistcoats for the men, and the jewelry and accessories were sometimes used in a freer way. In those days all the ladies in the court would be covered in lace because it was the way to show how rich you were. They had much more jewelry than I used. I preferred the decorations of the dresses to be more graphic than lacy. Even though I used beautiful period lace sometimes.

 

 

One thought on “Gorgeous lady costumes from the movie Marie Antoinette

Leave a Reply

