How I get attracted by the qualities I prefer (in this case by mohabbat)

I wish everybody could listen to a qawwali at least once ! I discovered this genre of songs about 5 years ago and since then cannot stop to listen and search for them. They are like magnets for me! I believe them to be the highest form of singing. Infact their content is truly divine and wonderfully detached from the daily feelings and hubbub we use to live in or dramatize. The best qawwalis are sung as improvisations, the singer starts to follow his own inspiration and heartfelt understanding of the divine nature. It’s a delight with no comparison; it’s such a unique remarkable experience to listen to qawwalis! Here the words of one of my favorite (the tango version is here). If you try to read them aloud keeping your attention onto you and the top of your head (your highest pick) it might touch you deeply inside!! 

KAAM JISKA FAKAT YE

DAULAT DIL KI LUTANA HAI
MOHABBAT KA KHAZANA BHI
KYA KHOOB KHAZANA HAI

HAR PAAT MEIN HAR KALI MEIN
CHHIPA PAIGAME MOHABBAT HAI
HAR PANKHUDI KE LABO PE
ULFAT KA YE TARANA HAI

FIZOOL HAI WO DEENODHARAM
JAHAN MOHABBAT BASTI NAHI
JIS DIL MEIN MOHABBAT HAI
VAHEEN TO USKA TIKHANA HAI
YE ISHK RUHANI
AB ZARURAT BANGAYI AADMI KI
EK BAAT YEHI MUJKO
BELOUS BATANA HAI 

The word mohabbat was generating some very good and higher feelings during the listening. In the same period I was receiving plenty of emails from a friend based in Lebanon who used to sign herself with “Mohabbat” after the name. I did not search for its meaning for several months thinking it is a form of saying goodbye or something nice. But recently I wanted to find out exactly and…I love its meaning! The meaning of the song is also coming soon and I can assure its stunningly elevated as well.

One thought on “How I get attracted by the qualities I prefer (in this case by mohabbat)

Leave a Reply

