Writing letters by hand: fashionable?

Today I run into a beautiful love poem by Rumi and sent it over by email to my husband. Then I suddenly thought the time is passing without me writing anymore love poems or letters by hand!!

Writing letters has been a constant in my early life, enabling me to keep all different kinds of relationships with sister, friends, aunts, even to my parents until last year, although they keep checking the email. Wherever I was I used to send (and receive of course) letters to everybody. One interesting story is that I still carry on (now thru email) my “pen-pal communication” with a friend since 1986 which started as intercultural exchange supported by an English teacher. Isnt it cool? And I know somewhere at my parents house there is a metal box with all her letters. And not only from her!

Writing letters had helped me so much to grow things inside, because they were all contents coming straight from the heart. Usually my letters used to travel to:Italy- Croatia –Germany –New York –California –Colombia –Hong Kong.

 Why were hand written letters so appealing? Are they resisting the new technology?

Today I notice still find some time to write a short letter all the times I send a parcel over, taking advantage of the fact that it is traveling with something else. Yes, maybe we are too busy in these modern cities to put some sentences on a sheet of paper and then go to the post office …

One thought on “Writing letters by hand: fashionable?

  1. Hi there! okay so I might be a creeper for doing this, but I have a really great project idea and I’m trying to launch it out there onto the internet. So I googled “I love writing letters” and found you.
    I don’t know if you’ve ever heard of Post Secret, but it is a HUGE project that a man named Frank came up with where a LOT of people [like, millions of people] mail him postcards with their secrets on it. And then he compiles books out of the postcards. It’s actually really cool.
    I was wondering if it would be possible to make a paper chain of secrets. I think this would be a TOTALLY cool project, but I need your help.

    If you’re interested:

    Take a regular U.S. 8.5″ x 11″ piece of paper and cut it in a strip that is 1/4th the 8.5” side. [fold in half hotdog-style (haha, remember preschool?) and fold again = one strip]

    decorate it like you would if you were sending our friend Frank a PostSecret… and obviously write a secret on it somehow.

    SEND IT TO ME!
    you can e-mail me for my address (greenapple773@gmail.com)

    I’m going to compile all the strips and make a HUGE paper chain with them. But I really can’t do it on my own. Please consider sending in one or more of your secret strips. And don’t forget to tell your friends and spread the word!

Leave a Reply

